17:00 PM

Cloquet Towing Company Received National Award from AAA, Ford

For going above and beyond to help a member, Wesley Vork owner of Cars Towing in Cloquet, MN, has been named the second-place winner of AAA's Ford Real Heroes of the Road Giveaway. Vork, a service provider for AAA Minnesota-Iowa, part of the Auto Club Group, won $3,000 to Zip's (a towing equipment manufacturer/wholesaler), but has decided to pay $2,000 dollars forward, equally divided to support of local emergency medical services and Alzheimer's research.

Made possible through AAA Network of Saving's partnership with Ford, Real Heroes of the Road supports the contractor network and member experience by recognizing the dedication and commitment of AAA's roadside assistance providers. Service providers are invited to share their most rewarding stories of serving members and/or their communities.

In September 2020, Vork responded to an out-of-area call for a 48-year AAA member who had been stranded since 8 p.m. the night before and didn't have a cell phone. In conjunction with the Minnesota State Patrol, local EMS from McGregor Ambulance Service, and AAA Dispatch, it was identified that the member was lost 850 miles away from his home in Ohio and appeared to be having memory issues. Together these agencies were able to evaluate the member, move him to a local hospital, transport his vehicle to the hospital, and contact the member's family. A few days later Vork received a call from the member thanking him and letting him know that he was safely home. You can read Vork's story here.

Stories are reviewed and considered by a panel of judges, comprised of AAA National and club leadership. Each year hundreds of touching stories are provided by AAA service providers dedicated to providing assistance and safety to stranded AAA members every day.

For the 5th annual Real Heroes of the Road, the first place winner was Mike and Cindy of Santiam Towing and Recovery in Lyons, Oregon and the third place winner was Sarah of Dragon Tows LLC in Hutchinson, Kansas.